"First" car. SXT now or R/T later?

Discussion in 'Prospective Challenger Owners Forum' started by Newtothis, Oct 5, 2020.

1. Newtothis

Newtothis New Member

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the car world but was looking for some advice on my first major purchase. I put "first" in parenthesis in the title because I'm looking for my first car to own rather than the first car I've used. I haven't had the money to purchase my own car, and my folks were never in a position to give up one of theirs. It never bothered me much and I made do with bumming rides, borrowing cars, and paying for food or gas when I could, but now that I'm almost 20 and dealing with college, the weight of not having my own mobility is starting to get noticeable.

I know the smart thing would be to pick up something economical and moderately used, but I finally have some money in my pocket and I find it hard to dump my savings and future paychecks into a malibu or something when all those beautiful Challengers are lined up across the street for almost the same price. I've been eyeing them for over a year now and I finally built up the courage to ask for a test drive, and to my surprise the dealer was up for it!

I tried the SXT because it was in my price range and it was fun. It wasn't super punchy but also not nearly as sluggish as my pessimistic friends led me to believe, not too dissimilar from the V8 pickup I was used to. I liked it and was content to look into price haggling.... until the dealer jangled the keys to an older R/T sitting on the lot. I was blown away, if not a little intimidated by all the torque on the pedal. I fell in love with it and could almost hear the Duke boys telling me to pull the trigger. I had to walk away before I made a stupid decision to sign some papers.

So really that's what it comes down to. Should I make the smarter choice and buy the SXT or go for another year of bumming rides and pinching paychecks for that wonderful V8?