Hood scoop questions

Discussion in 'Challenger R/T Engine and Performance Modifcations' started by JohnnyCharger, Mar 24, 2018.

  1. JohnnyCharger

    JohnnyCharger Member

    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Hi!
    With this hood scoop.... do all i have to do is remove the pad underneath to have the scoop cool the engine bay? Is there any value add?

    1521914539807-2067075341.jpg

    1521914565484-570469477.jpg
     
  2. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    better make sure that the vents are opened on that scoop and not molded closed, and there is a cold air adapter shield that goes underneath that if you choose to go with a cold air intake system.
     
    JohnnyCharger likes this.
  3. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    Here is a pic of Cervinis scoop like that with cold air intake box [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    JohnnyCharger likes this.
  4. 10DYRT

    10DYRT Full Access Member

    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    I have the Mopar T/A Hood on my car, I had to purchase the front scoop grilles seperately and then cut the holes in the hood.
    Next was the plastic duct work which up here in Canada was over $600 even though available in US for almost half. Next was
    putting in an Airaid CAI and trimming the plastic housing down in order for the duct work to not hit it when the hood was closed.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2018
    JohnnyCharger and IntimidatorRT like this.
  5. JohnnyCharger

    JohnnyCharger Member

    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Great info guys! Thank you! So it looks like this is probably more involved than I had thought....
     
  6. 10DYRT

    10DYRT Full Access Member

    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Mine is not stock, but it is a Mopar after market hood.
    I let the body shop that painted it cut the holes.
     
    IntimidatorRT likes this.
  7. ZEN357

    ZEN357 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Wheeling, WV
    Check with Cervinis. They can help you get what you want.
     
    JohnnyCharger likes this.
  8. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    https://www.cervinis.com/

    even thought I bought my car used, Cervini actually installed my shaker and go wing, my car was the first car they installed the go wing on so basically it was the test car for the wing. They are located in Vineland, New Jersey and that is where I bought my car.
     
    JohnnyCharger likes this.
  9. Crazy55rider

    Crazy55rider Full Access Member

    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Location:
    California
    What type of hood is it and did it come stock.
     
    JohnnyCharger likes this.
  10. JohnnyCharger

    JohnnyCharger Member

    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Not sure. I bought the car used a couple of weeks ago. It looks stock. It there any tricks to pullling the "push pins" that are holding the pad on? I tried to do it with a tool for removing trim but i wasnt having luck with it.
     

Share This Page