1. SRT-Tom

SRT-Tom Well-Known Member Staff Member Super Moderator Article Writer

I have always kept my Challenger immaculate. I use Meguiars Ultimate Wax and Ultimate Detail Spray.

After watching some detailing videos, experts recommend using polish before waxing to provide a deep shine and remove any swirl marks. Meguiars makes an Ultimate Polish that I am thinking of using this Spring.

Has anyone used polish and what was the result?

Last edited: Mar 18, 2015
  2. jim

jim Full Access Member

I'm far from an expert.
    Here's what I do.
    Clay bar first. Then,
    using my Porter Cable sponge pad, I apply Meguiars no. 7 glaze. Then remove most of the glaze with a towel.
    Next apply Meguiars Yellow Wax using the P. C. sponge pad .
    Remove most of the wax using towel.
    Then buff out with P. C. buffing pad.
    As an option,Lastly, you can mist with just a TINY bit of water and spit shine rubbing only in the direction of the length of the car.

3. SRT-Tom

SRT-Tom Well-Known Member Staff Member Super Moderator Article Writer

I discovered an excellent series of informative videos on Meguiars' web site. They cover Meguiars' 5-Step process to an award-winning finish. Well worth viewing.

The tip with polish is to apply it sparingly on a foam applicator and rub it lightly into a small 12" by 12" area (make 6 passes), and then remove with a clean microfiber towel after 30 seconds. Make sure your car's surface is cool to the touch. If you let the polish dry, it is difficult to remove. You'll have to get it off by applying additional polish.

Meguiar's 5-Step Paint Care Cycle - Updated!

Last edited: Mar 26, 2015
  4. dcharlz

dcharlz Member

I've seen lots of Youtube vids that offer tips and tricks for polishing.

5. William Thacher

William Thacher Active Member