1. Hopslayer

    Hopslayer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Location:
    Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
    Do people take newer Challengers in to be tuned for better performance, or are they optimized at the factory? How can I know if I am getting the best performance from my V6 as I can? I don’t want a bigger motor, I just want to get all I can out of what I got.
     
  2. ZEN357

    ZEN357 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Wheeling, WV
    There are plenty of bolt on go fast parts, such as CAI, exhaust, plugs, coil packs, etc..... As for tuning you will need to replace the computer with an unlocked on. There are plenty of places on the internet you can find one. You can either do an exchange or buy one outright which is what I plan to do so I have my original one. You'll have to buy the tuner as well.
     
  3. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Well-Known Member Staff Member Super Moderator

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    807
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    ok, easy part about tuning is getting a diablosport predator. very easy to work, plugs in to your OBD2 post under dash. plug and play to say. you can change different parameters of the computer to get the best performance. I used one on my 2009 SE with the 3.5L 4 sp auto. it will store your stock tune in its memory. you can always go back to the stock tune at any time. but with the predator you can change tire size if you do go to a different set of tires. with the newer 3.6L v6 you can put headers on it as the exhaust manifold is made into the head, so you are limited with the performance parts that you can add. but with the predator i was able to pull about 225 HP on a dyno and that is pretty good for the 3.5L at that time. with a tuner now on the 3.6 you should be able to get another 30- or so just by resetting some of the parameter fields.. along with a CAI. should make the car run pretty good. coil packs and a stuff like that wont do you any good, unless you want to start rebuilding the internals with High performance parts.
     
  4. Hopslayer

    Hopslayer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Location:
    Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
    I understand that would void my warranty. What I was wondering is if the factory computer can be tweaked to get better performance, without doing ANY other modifications. Let’s say I bought a brand new Challenger today. Could I then take it somewhere where they could dial in the factory settings any better and not effect the warranty? Maybe it can’t be done, I have no idea.
     
  5. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Well-Known Member Staff Member Super Moderator

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    807
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    Again like I said, the tuner stores the factory tune, so that you can put it back in when stuff like that has to be done. It does not void the factory warranty if you put the stock tune back in. Many a people who own these cars do that. I for one leave my tune installed as my dealer is mod friendly and I even have an extended warranty on my car. CAI and cat back exhaust don’t void it either. They have to prove that what ever mod you installed is the cause of the problem.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Hopslayer likes this.
  6. SRT-Tom

    SRT-Tom Full Access Member Article Writer

    Posts:
    2,591
    Likes Received:
    357
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    southern New Jersey

    Anything other than factory settings can void your warranty.
     
  7. 70-426_10-SRT

    70-426_10-SRT Full Access Member

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    576
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Location:
    PDX
    Not if you copy the original FACTORY tune back on before taking it in for work.
    Well, unless you blow up your engine?
    No, you don't need to start it after you do the tune.....
     
  8. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Well-Known Member Staff Member Super Moderator

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    807
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
    i know plenty of people who have tuners for their car, some of them don't give a crap about warranty and some do, the ones that do when using the tuners do reinstall their stock factory tune when they take their cars to the dealer for warranty work or other wise. I use to do that, but since my mechanic there is a car guy and helps me out when ever he can. he really don't care if I got a tune on it or not, but if I take it in for engine work he told me to install the stock tune. I still have an extended warranty on mine. so either way I am good, they will fix what needs fixing.
     
    Hopslayer likes this.
  9. Tatt2Jack

    Tatt2Jack Full Access Member

    Posts:
    99
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    2015 and newer needs a Modified (or unlocked) ECM to be able to Tune it. Also, you need to make sure the Dealer DOESN'T reflash ur ECM (new or not) while there's a Tune in it or you'll be Locked Out of ur Tuner. I have a '13 SXT+ and I use a DS iTune2 I also bought a Custom Tune from Will http://www.getoverkilled.ca/ Love it! It's better then the DS Tune, got a little more Low End, better MPH and more Pull. You're also better off (cheaper) to get the Tuner and Custom Tune from Will (or Custom Tuner) then buying each separately. Very HAPPY! AND you can also get ur Tune "adjusted" for Free if you change stuff, like a new exhaust, bigger TB, etc. So you cant go wrong.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019