ECU (Chip) for 2018 SXT

Discussion in 'New Member Check-In' started by MattP, Jun 3, 2018.

  1. MattP

    MattP Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    California
    I just got a 2018 SXT V6 3.6L and am looking for an ECU to boost HP a little bit. Yes, I know, I should have gotten a Scat Pack/V8, but I had to get a cheap, new ride. Motorcycle crash, broken neck, need a cheap car now, yada, yada.

    I’d like to chip the SXT, but can’t find anything that appears legit for the 2018. Does anyone happen to have any advice?

    Cheers.
     
  2. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    428
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.
  3. MattP

    MattP Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    California
    Thanks. I called Diablosport, they do not make an ECU for the 2018 yet.
     
  4. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    428
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.

    you dont need a new ECU, use the one you got with the tuner they provide. a chip really isnt going to do a dang thing for you.
     
  5. MattP

    MattP Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    California
    Perhaps you misunderstood, Diablosport DOES NOT support the 2018 challenger yet. At all.
     
  6. IntimidatorRT

    IntimidatorRT Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    428
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rosepine,LA.

    give them time, they will get a handle on it, they always do. just takes time to get one in and they can do their magic on them. I just would not trust using a chip in the ECM. waste of money.
     
  7. MattP

    MattP Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    California
    I'm not planning on using an actual chip, it's a figure of speech. I'm very well aware the tuner flashes the ECU with tunes, preloaded or customized.

    Thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page